IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

What Does Freedom Mean to You?

Posted by IT Pilgrim on June 17, 2008

Well, what does freedom mean to you?

It really depends on what kind of freedom you are talking about. To begin with there is financial freedom, religious freedom, physical freedom, and political freedom. In a way, I think we are all seeking one of these, pretty much whichever one, or ones you are missing, those are the ones you will seek.

Financial Freedom
Financial Independence is usually taken to mean freedom from debts, or ability to do whatever you want with your money.I like to think that its really more than that. What if one day you really didn’t want to go to work, and you didn’t have to because you didn’t have to care if you got fired. What if you did not have to wait until your 60s for that feeling.

Religious Freedom
Defined as the freedom to practice any religion, or not, that you see fit, I think this one is yet to be achieved anywhere.This would imply a level of acceptance that we, as humans, have not quite managed yet.

Physical Freedom
As long as you aren’t in prison, you probably have this one down, or at least mostly.We all have some measure of restriction, even if its only that 4 x4 cubicle you have to stay in for most of the day.

Political Freedom
Political freedom and religious freedom can be pretty closely related in that its difficult to have one without some measure of the other. Political freedom would mean that you are persecuted for your political leanings. Also, like religious freedom, I don’t think this is one we have quite achieved yet either.

It would seem that most of us are seeking one, if not two or three of the above. Which one are you missing? What does freedom mean to you?

2 Responses to “What Does Freedom Mean to You?”

  1. Francois said

    One of my friends described it very well to me: there is “external” and “internal” freedoms.

    External freedom include things like financial freedom, physical freedom and political freedom. I regard regard all of these freedoms highly.

    But there is also an internal freedom – which is a freedom inside your heart and mind. This freedom is deeper, and holds more value to me than the external freedoms. I think a lot of this freedom has to do with the courage to take on your fears. If you have this courage, you are not bound by your fears.

    Good post and good question. 🙂

  2. mamatsidale said

    To me freedom means being able to enjoy the blessings that I have in life. I don’t want to live in fear, I want to be able to live life the way the Creator intended 🙂 I know, that is pretty vague but I feel so blessed that I want everyone around me to feel the same way. Good luck to you.
    be blessed,
    http://www.safarinjema.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
