IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

Preventing the Fall

Posted by IT Pilgrim on June 26, 2008

Have you ever hit rock bottom? Hmm… Perhaps I should ask, has anyone not ever hit rock bottom. In response to GLBL’s post the other day, what would have prevented the fall? I too had to hit rock bottom before the realization that money doesn’t grow on tree really sank in. I woke up one day, got ready to go to work and realized that I had almost no groceries and wasn’t too sure how I was going to get more before payday, and this on a nice fat 80-hour work week income. Why we all do this to ourselves, I don’t know, but if only we had a time machine where we could communicate with our former selves…

Rather than getting a second job to bail myself out, it would have been nice if I had realized one simple principle, budgeting. I am not much of a budgeter at this point, preferring to keep a running tally in my head, but back then I had no idea where my money went. So if I could tell myself one thing, it would be this, Track Expenses! Oh how much grief I could have saved myself with those two little words.

If I had tracked expenses, perhaps I could have paid off my credit card each month, or better yet, not have used credit cards in the first place. I now even know when it all started, on a vacation where lots of unexpected expenses cropped up all over the place. I would go back and warn the old me before taking that particular vacation.

The grand irony of it all is that just before I hit rock bottom, I started getting daily collections calls, but not for me. Seems some esteemed family member likes to put my home phone number on all their credit applications they don’t intend to pay so I get all their collection call. Its like an ice bath to get one of those calls, afraid that its for you. The fact that it is not is not really much of a relief, the fear has already kicked in at that point.

So, in the interest of simplicity, just track your expenses. How can you ever know how much you have if you don’t know what you’ve spent?

3 Responses to “Preventing the Fall”

  1. Glblguy said

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. defendingpandora said

    Your story about the phone calls for someone else gave me a flash of guilt. I sometimes, if required to put a phone number on an application that I think will lead to sales calls, put down a number that is one digit off from my own. And now I wonder if someone else, somewhere is getting phone calls for me from annoying salespeople.

  3. IT Pilgrim said

    I had thought about it before I started receiving those, but now, knowing what a pain it is to get them to leave you alone, I never even think about it. I like to think of it as taking responsibility for my own spam 😉

Leave a Reply

 
