IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

Have You Ever Given Up a Good Job For Money?

Posted by IT Pilgrim on July 3, 2008

Lunch Money

Have you ever given up an otherwise good job for something as silly as a little more money? Well, if I go by this article then I think I did. I had all but the flexible work arrangement. Here’s a bit of an excerpt:

No. 1: Offer attractive benefits. Salary is a key consideration for members of this group, but so are benefits.

No. 2: Promote work/life balance. Nearly 73% of Gen-Yers surveyed said they are concerned about being able to balance a career with personal obligations.

No. 3: Narrow the rungs of the corporate ladder. Millennials are willing to work hard, but when it comes to moving up the ranks, they want to do so quickly.

No. 4: Ensure managers are engaged and accessible. In the survey, Millennials described their “dream boss” as being understanding, caring, flexible and open-minded, as well as someone who is authoritative but respects, values and appreciates his employees.

No. 5: Foster “face time.” Even though Gen-Yers grew up with cell phones, e-mail and the Internet, two-thirds of survey respondents selected in-person conversations with their co-workers as their preferred communication method.

Wow, now I kind of feel like an idiot. I read this, and realized that I had it all, well most of it. I was one of those silly companies that equates Butts-in-Seats with work ethic, but other than that, what more could you ask for? I had the understanding, family oriented enviroment, the narrow rungs on the ladder, I had most of what a person could want.

As a line straddler between Gens X and Y, I am not as confirmed a social networker as most, especially since my family never got into the technology thing, but also because I am right on the line of too old to have completely grown up with it. I had the right manager though, at around 10 years older, I guess this personage would have been a Gen X’er. I think I somehow managed to forget how rare a manger is who not only understands, and can do the work is, but is also all the things described in that article.

I guess there’s no use in crying over spilled milk. Maybe I can go back, but it seems kind of backwards. What’s that expression … You never know what you have until you lose it.

One Response to “Have You Ever Given Up a Good Job For Money?”

  1. jrandom421 said

    “Don’t always seem to go
    That you don’t what you’ve got
    Till it’s gone
    They’ve paved Paradise
    Put up a parking lot”

    Joni Mitchell- “Big Yellow Taxi” from “Ladies of the Canyon” 1970

Leave a Reply

 
