IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

Labels, Labels Everywhere

Posted by IT Pilgrim on July 29, 2008

As a people, as humans, we love to label everything. We love to earmark it our minds as good, bad, ugly or indifferent. To some extent, I think that is probably just the way our minds work, categorizing, sorting and storing. Someone pointed out the other day an article on wikipedia about social identity, and I found it fitting.

Lately I have been struggling against labels, at least politically speaking. Need we always fit into a neat little group? Republican, Democrat, Liberal, whatever. A friend of mine labeled me as an Anarchist, but I think that label too is far to narrow. Now, before everyone sends me a bunch of hate mail about how anarchists are evil, and gives me the two hour dissertation on how their chosen political leaning is better, just take a moment, and think, is it really? That kind of behavior is exactly what I am talking about. You see, when we label, we judge, and I have to ask, what gives you the right?

Labels are limitations my friends, why limit yourself? Belief is all about experiences and perception. No one sees that tree exactly the same way. Why must someone be defined by their skin, or weight, or sex or religion, or political party? For years people have lamented the evils of racism, or sexism, or more lately, ageism, but I say that those are not the problem. The problem is labels and how we use them to define ourselves. Yet, people purposely label themselves all the time, be it with words, clothes, or other possessions, or sometimes by claiming associations.

I say it is time to free ourselves from the labels. Don’t refer to people by these generic names that give such a narrow view of who and what they are. We are all so much more than that. So next time someone says to me that I should be a Democrat or Republican, or whatever, I’m just gonna smile and tell them that their prejudices are showing.

Photo by Wm Jas via Flickr

2 Responses to “Labels, Labels Everywhere”

  1. Very well said, but labels need not be limitations unless we or the person interpreting makes them so. By definition labels represent a generalization. Generalizations change as the input that produce them change. The sad thing is, the latter change often lags behind.

  2. IT Pilgrim said

    Good comment. Thanks for reading.

    Pilgrim

Leave a Reply

 
