IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

Woman in the Datacenter Sound the Red Alert!

Posted by IT Pilgrim on August 8, 2008

Red Alert Captian! A female has been spotted strolling amoung our precious servers and storage devices.

Funny story really, well kind of, but you either laugh or cry and I chose to laugh. I am strolling through the datacenter on afternoon, laptop in hand when some security guard steps in front of me and blocks my way. OK, I say to myself, very funny, now get out of my way dude. He actually has the gall to ask me if I belong in the datacenter.

After I finish laughing in his face, I smile with every bit of cynisim I own, which is a lot, and teel him yes, that I do in fact belong there, did he? He looked a little bewildered and asked to see my badge. To which I replied, “this one? The one I badged in here with?”He shook his head and told me that he had thought someone had brought their girlfriend or wife in and was letting her wander around the datacenter. After I was done laughing at him some more, I told him he could go check his computer and it would show where I legally badged in.

Security dude wanders off, and I trun around, and to my absolute horror, I realize that one of my co-workers had been standing a mere row away. That made him out of view to the security guard, but definitely not out of earshot. Great, however am I going to live this down.

Now I know, some people would say that this is the sort of thing you are supposed to go to HR about, but I beg to differ my friends. You see, contrary to popular belief, HR does not exist to help employees, that is a myth born of naivete. HR exists to keep the company from successfully getting sued by the employees they treat like garbage.

To this day, I think the whole episode is kind of funny. A few years past I might have been insulted, or hurt, but now days I just take it all with a laugh and chalk it up to the guard’s stupidity. He was a new guard anyway, maybe the old ones were hazing the new guy.

Any other ladies in IT out there? This ever happen to you?

Photo by: by Billy V

6 Responses to “Woman in the Datacenter Sound the Red Alert!”

  1. Francois said

    Hehe… funny story. πŸ™‚

    But perhaps it’s not only a lady thing. I’ve had some similar encounters, where work came to a halt, because I couldn’t gain access to a building or server room, having my way blocked by a guy dressed in uniform and armed with a 2-way radio.

    Maybe it has something do with people in security in general?

    They have to keep a balance between being polite and making sure everything is secure. It’s a difficult balance to maintain! I wouldn’t want that job…

  2. IT Pilgrim said

    @Francois, what made me think that was that he asked if I was someone’s girlfriend or wife. Otherwise I wounld have thought much of it. He still flinches every time he see me. πŸ™‚

    Pilgrim

  3. Francois said

    Hehe… kry vir jou boetie!!

    Which is Afrikaans that roughly translates to “get some of your own back brother!” πŸ™‚

  4. IT Pilgrim said

    @Francois, thanks, I always love a free language lesson. Bonus!

    Pilgrim

  5. Jemimah Ruhala said

    I usually go out of my way to look like a geek to avoid this problem. You’d be surprised what horn-rimmed glasses, a big digital watch, a few random gadgets and an authoritative air can do to keep you from getting confused with the secretary, or in your case, someone’s girlfriend.

  6. IT Pilgrim said

    @Jemimah, that’s pretty funny. I usually do too, but it doesn’t always work. It is funny to confuse the guard with techie words, but somehow, I still get mixed up with the secretary. In that case, just make “special” coffee πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
