IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

Its Time To Live For The Here and Now

Posted by IT Pilgrim on September 25, 2008

All of my life, I have lived for the future. Save for the future, plan for the future, live for the future, and even worse, I have lived for everyone else. I have worked multiple jobs to give my last $5 to family members who do not work more than 1 or 2 days a week, but they need money to get dinner for their kids. I have saved every possible penny for “the future,” and well, I think I have just been reminded that tomorrow is promised to no one. Due to some recent serious health concerns, I have come to realize that tomorrow may never come.

How sad would it be to live your entire life for a tomorrow that never came. To spend your entire life building a financial empire that will only be enjoyed by neices, nephews and even worse, their lazy parents? I don’t know why it took me so long to realize what I should have known all along. Somewhere there has to be some balance, but I woke up and realized that far too many people are depending on me. The bad part is they depend on me not because they have to, but because they can. Did I really set out to become an enabler?

Well, its time to stop. Somehow I need to figure out how to stop holding everyone else’s hand. Yesterday was for eveyone else, tomorrow, somehow will be for me. Now if I can just figure out how …

Photo by shoebappa via Flickr

2 Responses to “Its Time To Live For The Here and Now”

  1. Jemimah said

    My suggestion is for you read/reread Atlas Shrugged, it will probably instantly cure you of desire to continue enabling behaviors.

    However, I wouldn’t recommend an exclusively live-in-the-moment life strategy. I tried it for a couple years after I graduated and I can tell you that that road leads only to immature behavior and superficiality, and the feeling that life is meaningless and hopeless. You need to invest in the future, in yourself, so that your children will have an inheritance, and so that you know what your dreams are. This doesn’t mean that you put off all gratification, just that you balance present gratification with future gratification. If you live like tomorrow will never come, you will end up disappointed when it does.

  2. IT Pilgrim said

    @Jemimah, Thanks I haven’t read that, I will see if I can find it.

    Pilgrim

Leave a Reply

 
