IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

I don’t understand unemployment.

Posted by IT Pilgrim on October 30, 2008

I don’t understand unemployment.

Maybe I am dumb, or naive, but somehow, I don’t understand the concept of being un-employed. Perhaps my disbelief at least partially stems from never having had a problem with getting a job. Perhaps it stems from having a different sort of pride. I recently ran into an ex-coworker who got laid off from a so called gold collar job. One of those jobs that pays so much, you stay no matter how much you hate it, just because it is so hard to get paid that much anywhere else. I left that job just before he did, and this was almost a year and a half ago. He’s still on unemployment. What?! What the heck man? I asked him, and he said, he hasn’t been able to get the same kind of job. I just about went nuts on the guy. You can’t get any job, I asked. No, he said, I can’t get a job like that one. This is one of the things I see fairly often, and it drives me nuts. The reason it drives me nuts, is because I am willing to work myself practically to death, doing 2 or 3 jobs if I have too, and here this guy sits on his butt because he is too proud to work fast food or retail?

Do people not take pride in their work ethic anymore? People say the job market is so tough. Well, I’m sorry (not really sorry) but I beg to differ. It may be tough to compete for those fancy, cushy jobs, but there are others out there. Can’t get a job in your field? Well, there’s a now hiring sign at that fast food joint down the road. I just don’t get it. How can people have so little pride? Maybe the problem is really too much pride. I think I am starting to believe that we have done ourselves a disservice with the implementation of welfare and unemployment. People should have to work for what they get, or maybe, contributions should be voluntary. I am totally OK with not ever getting benefits.

Grant you, I will concede that there are situations and events beyond a person’s control. What I am talking about is the blatant laziness of our society. I am tired of paying for other people to be lazy. And that friend of mine … I am on the fence as to whether report him or not. ON the second thought, that will just trigger movement of bureaucracy, and cost me more money anyway. Sigh, I guess I’ll just settle for having given him a piece of my mind.

Photo by Amen-Ra via Flickr

Leave a Reply

 
