IT Pilgrimage

A Journey From IT to Freedom

Successful Re-negotiation

Posted by IT Pilgrim on November 20, 2008

I wish I could say this was one of those great articles about negotiating tactics, but its not. I did get my was, a 4-day work week, but all usually tactics failed and I had to resort to blackmail. I tried being reasonable, suggesting that their travel schedule was unreasonable. I tried to point out that the company saves money on hotel and other expenses, but the truth is that they really could care less.

Like most big corporations, the people are just a cog in the machine. Now grant you, I could probably find a new job, and probably should but I have moved so much i the last three years, I think I need to stay put for a while. Like any good blackmailer, I got my ducks in a row first, resume all typed up and pretty. Then I had to resort to, fix it, or replace me. Sad but true.

I tried to be reasonable, I really did but in the end, the only thing they cared about was how angry the client would be if they lost me. I guess you don’t always get what you want, at least without some blood on the carpet. I’ll dredge up the negotiation tactics for real for tomorrow.

Photos: by Ladybird 510 via Flickr, and by Maxey via Flickr

One Response to “Successful Re-negotiation”

  1. Hi. I am a long time reader. I wanted to say that I like your blog and the layout.

    Peter Quinn

Leave a Reply

 
